Florida Statute 627, 736 states that the insurer must accept or deny your claim within 30 days of filing. If you don't have all the information required to submit at once, the insurer has up to 30 days to pay the claim as soon as you receive each part of it. Florida insurance companies have 64 days to resolve a claim after it is filed.
Florida insurancecompanies also have specific time frames within which they must acknowledge the claim and then decide whether or not to accept it, before paying the final settlement.
Florida Law Regulates Agreement Verification Schedule in Florida. Once you accept a written agreement, the insurance company must issue the payment within 20 days, unless both parties agree on a different date. Insurance adjusters may declare that payment is conditional on signing a release of all claims. For most Florida insurance claims, insurers must make a decision within 90 days.
You should receive notice that your claim was approved or denied within this timeframe, and if you don't, you should contact a Florida attorney who specializes in insurance disputes. Some claims take several months to settle, while others may take more than a year. Having a car accident can be a big headache, even if the damage is minor. Once you file a claim, you may wonder: How long does it take for an insurance company to process a claim? The short answer is usually around 30 days.
However, it may vary depending on some other factors. Fortunately, Florida's no-fault insurance laws are there to protect you, and there's a good chance there's an insurance policy that covers your losses. The amount of time it takes to settle an insurance claim for a car accident ranges from a few weeks to several months. Yes, Florida is a no-fault state, meaning every driver's insurance pays for their own medical bills no matter who causes a collision.
No, uninsured motorist coverage is not required in Florida, as drivers may refuse coverage in writing. If you suspect bad faith in insurance, address the issue with your insurance company, and if that doesn't resolve the issue, be prepared to consult an attorney. Occasionally, claims are delayed, but most state laws require insurance companies to tell you the status of the claim. If you file a PIP claim, you won't need to prove your liability to get compensation, which means that claims are usually approved quickly.
Failure to pay within the agreed or statutory deadline means that the insurance company could be liable to pay interest. The insurance company may have to pay you extra because you didn't do your part to investigate and pay the claim fairly. Insurance adjusters make this decision using the legal definition of negligence, which is when a driver does not exercise the same amount of caution that a “reasonable person” would under the same circumstances. We can help you determine how long your particular car accident claim will last and when you can expect the insurance company to pay you compensation owed to you for your injuries.
If you are not at fault, the same steps apply, but you can contact the other driver's insurance company to file a third-party liability claim for your injuries and damage to the vehicle. If the refusal is due to an administrative error by the customer, the insurance company must provide an explanation. Usually, the insurance company has about 30 days to investigate your auto insurance claim, although the number of days varies by state. Be prepared to provide copies of the police report, photos of the damage and insurance information for all parties involved, as well as any other information requested by your adjuster.